The Forerunner or the SportBand?

Torn between a Garmin and a Nike+ SportBand, I decided yesterday to get a Garmin Forerunner 305 based on my research at the office (Haha, the slacker is back!). It’s accurate and it has a heart monitor that would tell me when I’m going overboard. I gave myself a timeline: I’ll start saving every month from this payday on and buy it November.

This morning, however, I had a change of heart. November is like eternity from now. I want a running companion the next time I run. Besides, the Garmin’s too bulky and it appears that it fits the more serious runners. I’m just a newbie, and you can’t spot me in the top 10 finishers of a 10k race. So I told myself, I’ll just opt for the “fashionista-runner” look and get that sleek, not-so-accurate SportBand, even though in real life, I’ve never invested in fashion magazines.

Having no backlight and only 97% accuracy, the Nike+ SportBand doesn’t really come close to the features of Forerunner, which lacks a touch of style (I sound like I’m trying too hard to assert that fashion is an important element in running). As of now, however, those trade-offs are manageable for its price.

But of course, I’m not closing my doors. I might invest in a more accurate and reliable gadget in the future, when I’m also a much serious runner.

2 thoughts on “The Forerunner or the SportBand?

  1. Insider info: Nike+Sportband still has some bugs. Wait for the newer version that will come out in around 3-4 months. Garmin 205 is identical to the 305 sans the HRM, so you might want to check it out since it’s a lot cheaper…around $150.
    I agree that the sportband looks way way cooler than the power rangeresque garmin but you just CAN’T use it at night! Unless you run with a flashlight. =)

Leave a Reply

