Adidas KOTR: Map reading

I downloaded the PDF file of the the Adidas King of the Road (KOTR) race route last Thursday, sent it to my running buddies, took a peek at it and then realized that map reading is as easy as burping ABC’s.

It was hand-drawn and had no logo of the KOTR. I tried to set aside those thoughts and tried to focus on the directions and street names. I spotted familiar street names, but the map still confused me.

Paseo de Roxas and Makati Ave. are parallel to each other? I asked myself. Don’t they intersect? I wondered. I tried to locate our office building in the map so that I could have it as a reference and guide me in the complex maze—and I couldn’t. I’m no excellent map reader so I thought it was time to get some help: I got a real map to aid me in deciphering the arrows and hand-drawn streets. Finally, the map made sense. They aren’t as parallel as drawn, but I guess those familiar with the route would understand (except for people like me with a poor sense of direction).

I also checked the 21K route and almost laughed out loud when I saw that Paseo de Roxas, Makati Ave. and Ayala Ave. were drawn like they’re three parallel streets. Silly me thought, “Really? They’re all parallel?” Of course, I thought I was being excessively slow and stupid for not understanding the map.

Unofficial
Net, Pao and I were talking about KOTR on the way to The Fort this morning. I mentioned that I e-mailed the map to them because I was wondering why no one reacted. Both of them said that they’ve seen it.

Net thought that the map I sent was unofficial. “Baka din-rawing mo lang yun, eh,” Net said, laughing. She even shared that her colleagues at work saw the map and thought that whoever sent it to her was just bluffing. “Baka daw ikaw lang daw nag-draw. Tapos nag-scan sa office,” she said.

It was just a bit disappointing that they didn’t release the map along with the race kits and they made it available just a few days before the race. It’s like having a party and when you ask the venue they’d tell you “TBA.”

I’ll post the rest of our KOTR misadventures soon. More of oversleeping, leaving the house almost in tears because the alarm didn’t wake me up, having very little warm up and stretching, not checking in, and running four minutes later than call time soon.

3 thoughts on “Adidas KOTR: Map reading

  1. I was also surprised by the quality of the map the organizers gave. But since they came from a reliable source, I posted them at the site. Anyway, in case you are running the Botak Paabilisan too, we just have the race map posted at takbo.ph. It has the logo, the colors and road are more accurately rendered. 😀 Hope you had a great kotr run.

  2. Thanks for the info, Jinoe. With such a map, my friends thought I was bluffing! Haha. 😀 But it did help me sharpen my map-reading skills.

    I had fun at the KOTR. Hope you had a blast as well. 😀

Leave a Reply

