Word for Word #4: Easy pace for pasta

Word for Word

“This run is for Amici!”

β€” Rico, dedicating the last 3km of the easy, comeback 15k run around San Lorenzo to Amici’s pasta, pizza and gelato.

I was hesitant to cover the 15k. My right knee has just recovered from the piercing pain it sustained after the 29km long run a couple of weeks back. My left knee still has that clicking sound at certain times. And I just bruised my left leg (probably when I hit a door, my office chair or something; I still have the clumsy bug, I suppose).

With the looming Rizal day run, however, I had to get to training mode again. But I had to take it easy: slower pace, less mileage. I knew I was out of shape because of (drum roll, please) side stitch. Arggh. Weak core? Incorrect breathing? Beats me. 😦

My knees weren’t complaining, but I knew they’re not the usual happy pair of knees whenever I do easy runs. Unconsciously, I was probably doing forefoot running because my calves were manifesting themselves to be doing much of the working out at 13km. I then missed the bike: all it offers is pure bliss whenever I ride it, no pain whatsoeverβ€”well, unless it throws me off the trail. And that’s a different story.

On another note, last weekend, I also got the chance to try my father’s full-suspension bike on the road, and wow, smooth! The humps didn’t appear to be humps at all. It should offer trail joy rides!

But no, the trail and I are estranged now.

And hey, we’re talking about running here. So let’s go back to the 15km run…

The last 3km
During the last few kilometers, it was Carlo, Ross, Rico and I running along Amorsolo. The speed monster pack has probably turned to Ponce by then and about less than 3km away from covering the 15km.

Carlo said he wanted a creamy carbonara with lots of bacon after the run. I was craving for red sauce pasta. Little did we know that Ross and Rico, who were behind us, also had pasta in mind.

“Amici,” one of us said.

My vision blurred. My stomach grumbled as the discussion went on. I then found myself speeding up, too, eager to finish the run; I was probably hungry.

Carlo suggested we cover the last 3km, wrap up and go to Amici.

I could hear them talking about having post-run carboloading, “this run is for Amici,” more pasta, cookies on gelato. Hmmm. Yummy treats.

So after an easy 15k, you guessed it. We were spotted at Amici, about 45 minutes before it closed its doors.

This run is for Amici!
This run is for Amici!
The girls
The girls

Ellen was back to her monster mode after letting go of her Lunar Glides that probably injured her and went ahead of everyone else. Mon got his groove again. Both didn’t want to admit who the real speed monster was. πŸ™‚ Ziggy was in his usual monster mode, perhaps still feeling the high after consuming his holiday’s serving of lechon.

Gelato king! :-)
Rico

Meanwhile, Rico was in his comeback, easy run mode.

Carlo and Ross
Carlo and Ross

Carlo was the running addict recovering from his Saturday’s 32km run. Ross was also in addict mode, excusing herself from a family affair for the easy 15k run.

Thanks to Rico for the pizza and Carlo for the gelato. πŸ™‚

Cheers!

P.S. Tim, it’s not a short, typical Word for Word entry. πŸ˜€

20 thoughts on “Word for Word #4: Easy pace for pasta

    1. join us next time, rodel! πŸ™‚
      sayang last night, di ako nakahabol. shy na ko dahil super late. hehe. πŸ™‚ hope you guys enjoyed dinner!

  1. great post..si mon ang addict..lunar glide…huhuhu..great run and of course, the best company and food..yey! we should do this more often, iba naman..hehehe!

    1. haha, pati dito, ellen, nag-de-debate pa rin kayo ni mon kung sinong mas running addict?! hahaha. πŸ˜€
      yeah, great food and company! πŸ™‚ i had fun, too! πŸ˜€ next time! πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks for dropping by, jazzrunner! I really need all the luck in the world tomorrow. Haha. πŸ™‚
      Enjoy your carboloading! πŸ˜€

  2. My cholestorel-laden legs were already protesting by km 9, but the last the last 3kms for Amici was worth it.

    Great food, even greater company! Buon appetito!

    1. Thanks for the pizza, Rico! πŸ™‚

      And oh, I’m not sure if I should attribute the Word for Word quote from you. If I remember correctly, ikaw nga ba? Hehe πŸ™‚

      Nice, comeback run! πŸ˜€ A break from housecleaning crosstraining. πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks, Bryan! πŸ™‚ You running Rizal Day run, too? πŸ˜€
      Chicken na lang ‘yun sa ‘yo. You and Doc Eire already conquered Baguio!

    1. Thanks, not-a-drama-king NBF. πŸ˜€ My calves were complaining during the last loop, actually. Haha, yeah, no more bully NBF. πŸ˜›

  3. Wow! Haven’t been up to date with your blog for a while, and here you are doing super long runs na pala! Great job! Amici definitely a well deserved treat. =) Happy New Year!

    1. thanks for dropping by, janine. πŸ™‚ haha, it’s because i’ve been in running/blogging hiatus. and yup, currently training.
      i haven’t dropped by your blog in ages, too. and wow, full marathon! πŸ™‚ good luck! πŸ˜€
      happy new year! cheers! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

