Word for Word #7: Tug at the Heartstrings

Word for Word

Ngayon pa lang, I’m very proud of you!”

β€”My brother, on my full marathon debut.

Melodrama is not my thing, but here it goes. Haha.

If someone would ask me if I’m ready for Condura, I’d say I’m somehow mentally prepared. Physically, I suppose I amβ€”I should beβ€”after a 36km simulation run. Emotionally, umm…

Here’s why.
No one in the family knew that I’ve been training for months for the full marathon. None of them knew that I fell off the bike in November. When I did my latest clumsy stint, only my brother knew of the wounds and bruises. Hadn’t he met up with me for dinner, he wouldn’t have seen the band-aids on my hands and I wouldn’t have told him that I’m running my first full marathon come Feb. 7.

Anong nangyari sa ‘yo?” he asked when I showed him my checkered hands while we were waiting for our pasta. “Nadapa ka?”

I nodded. “Nung nag-36km ako. Please don’t tell Ma.”

He chuckled. He knew the lecture I’d get if our mom finds out. πŸ˜€

I’ve been bugging my parents to be at the Condura Run, but my father had been adamant on not traveling all the way from Laguna to witness “just another race.” I’ve said keywords like “it’s the Skyway run,” “may medal dun.”

But I just couldn’t tell them its significance to meβ€”that it’s my first full marathon. It’s because the distance scares both of themβ€”the media had sensationalized marathon deaths too much that my parents knew about them and perceived it as something fatal. Hence, the big secret (And they don’t stalk me online that they don’t know about my blog).

The Melodrama
So there. I wish this FM debut is something I can share with my family, and yet it’s a family secret I share with my kuya. And because he has a family of his own and he has to attend to a house repair job to be done on race day, he couldn’t promise to be there.

In our recent chat over GoogleTalk, he was torn over what to do on race day, knowing that I’d be facing the 42.195km distance without them waiting at the finish line. But it was nice of him to try to work things around. And for that alone, I was touched.

Gtalk with Kuya
Dropping the drama, but feeling the brotherly affection

Thus, there’s no backing out. And whatever that “wall” looks like, I should overcome it. Whatever happens on race day, I should finish it. *Gulps*

Good luck to us! πŸ˜€

16 thoughts on “Word for Word #7: Tug at the Heartstrings

  1. walang wall wall dun! kung gusto mo itulak pa kita OVER the wall eh! πŸ™‚ basta TIM galloway tayo, walang iwanan, nobody gets left behind πŸ™‚ lalo na pag talent ko πŸ™‚ wahahaha

    see yah! πŸ˜€

    1. thanks, boss basti! pero ingat sa pagtulak, baka madapa na naman ako. haha. πŸ˜€
      good luck sa ‘tin!

  2. Tracy!!!

    Good luck on your marathon debut! When i hit the wall, I just think about the finish line and how glorious it will be. It really helps! nawawala pagod ko knowing that people will be cheering me on when I’m close to the finish!

    1. Ge! πŸ™‚ Thanks, thanks. A testimony from someone who conquered SIM and has a mango medal! Sige, the finish line in mind. Good luck din and let’s enjoy Condura! πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks. Anxious, actually. But hearing Nao’s wise words and reading these comments, hmm, looks like one should just get excited.

      Good luck! I’m sure you’ll have a strong and awesome finish. πŸ˜€

  3. when i learned about galloway, the wall disappeared =)

    tracy, me too, now pa lang, i’m proud of you. i’m proud for your courage to submit yourself and your registration to the condura secretariat. i will be proud seeing you transformed as an athlete at the starting line. i will be proud sharing the skyway with you and rest of the runners of all levels. i will be proud to see you transformed once again as a marathoner at the finish line.

    enjoy the run and savor the glory of the marathon! =)

    1. Whoa! πŸ˜€
      Thanks, Jet! I’m proud of you and all the marathoners as well. Thanks for the kind words. Let’s conquer Skyway! Group hug! πŸ˜€

  4. begin with the end in mind and you will conquer the wall. good luck and most of all, enjoy your first full marathon.

    eo

    1. Thanks, Eo! πŸ˜€ Will keep the finish line in mind.
      Running Condura, too?
      Keep running! πŸ˜€

    1. Thanks, Rico! πŸ˜€ For all the advice, encouragement and believing in us.
      Hope to see you there!

  5. Go. go. go! If you’ve been training for this, then you’ll finish beautifully for sure. Just enjoy the whole experience. =) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

