Duathlon Diaries: Will revenge be mine?

Two days to go before my supposed revenge in Filinvest at the Powerade Duathlon’s second leg, I find myself out of shape. And that goes beyond feeling the extra weight: I got a sore throat and I’ve been sneezing myself in and out of the office.

I didn’t clock in a sub-2 at the first duathlon; I was hoping to have a faster bike leg and a stronger last run leg this time around. Will revenge be mine?

I used an MTB at my first Powerade Duathlon (Speaking of which, I haven’t concluded my blog series on it yet). At this leg, I’ll be using my new roadie I dubbed Falcon.

Falcon
When Falcon found a new home. πŸ™‚

Turning a month old on July 18, Falcon hasn’t been spending much time on the road. The last time I bricked around my playground, the white-framed bike gave me a lower back pain that I ran the last leg looking like I had braces. On other times, though, we seemed to be ok.

This morning–yes, just this Friday morning–I tried it on after I adjusted the seat post and stem. And Falcon’s creaking from these adjustments. It went well, but I’m kinda imagining pain in my lower back. Is that due to the 30-minute ride? Or as suspected, am I just imagining it?

*Gulps*

With my last brick session done weeks ago and tempo run done ages ago, I am reprimanding myself for giving up training in the name of the social life I missed. I’ve been clocking in more hours of zzz’s than saddle time. I’ve been logging in more office hours than gym time.

Will revenge be mine?

13 thoughts on “Duathlon Diaries: Will revenge be mine?

    1. Hi Kassy!

      Errr, I can ride a bike. Bow. But I know nothing more. Haha. πŸ˜€

      Seriously speaking, I know very little about bikes. Its frame is Fuji. Sora shifters, RD is Tiagra, while non-series yung sa front.

      And those doggie mouthguard-like pedals? They’re called toe clips pala. Haha.

  1. Good luck to us on Sunday Tracy!

    We put in the training and the hours and I am sure we will do better compared to our first time! we’re not noobs anymore!

    1. Haay. Thanks, Ge!

      Falcon and I are currently in a love/hate relationship. Minsan masakit s’ya sa likod, minsan hindi. Arggh. I hope peace kami on Sunday. πŸ™‚ Hehe.

      Good luck to you, too! I’m sure you’ll do a lot better this time. πŸ˜‰

    1. Thanks, Jet! πŸ™‚

      Hope to see you on the road, too, on a bike. πŸ˜‰

      For the mean time, you can borrow my bading-colored bike Falcon, too, when we see each other. πŸ™‚

  2. Cousin!!!

    GOODLUCK sa DUALTH !!! =)

    nice bike ! hi falcon hope to meet you someday ! πŸ™‚ ingatan mo yan pinsan ko! ingat kyo hehehehe goodluck! πŸ™‚

    be safe cousin ! πŸ™‚

    GOD BLESS !

    1. Thanks, cousin! πŸ™‚

      Yup, Falcon took care of me naman. Haha. πŸ˜€

      See you! Falcon’s looking forward to meet you, too. πŸ™‚

  3. I’d put that chain through the wheels as well if i were you. They are eminantly stealable too.

    You’ve got those toe clip things. Get some shimano mtb spd pedals Β£/$20 and some specialized road shoes bottom of range about Β£/$70. That will get you under 2 hours (10:20:5?)

    Then to get the next 5 mins off get some aero / tri bars. At least you’ll look good when your back hurts

Leave a Reply

