Relay Fun at the Lactacyd Team Woman Run

Ok. I haven’t been in a sponge-like existence, i.e. I lacked neurons, and information stopped flowing in my nervous system, thus disabling me to write about this running event. It’s not about being a parazoan at all.

It’s about utter girls’ day out fun!

So much fun that I didn’t want to write about it because my words might not be enough to recap the fun we had. Haha. Then I realized I should tell some tale (even just from my own perspective) because I think anything fun deserves some Web space.

It’s a running event teeming with girl power, excitement of a first relay and post-race bonding session.

Initially, I was hesitant to write about it publicly. You know that feeling when you own something special that you want to keep it a secret? That its exclusivity is part of it that makes it special? Well, that’s how I thought about blogging about it.

And then I realized, publicly writing about it won’t diminish its value to us. In fact, we just might do it again next year! πŸ™‚

So here is my account of the Lactacyd Team Woman Run, where Ellen, Joyce, Ross and I formed a relay team to conquer a Pikermi distance.

In the nick of time
I had no plans of joining this race. I keep frugality in mind when racingβ€”Won’t register and race if it’s not for PR, and will only join if an upcoming important race calls for a long run training. But with Ellen, Joyce and Ross up for the relay, I thought I couldn’t be a err, party, relay pooper!

Ross picked up our race kits Friday afternoon before the race. We discussed our team uniform through e-mail and SMS exchanges. We didn’t discuss strategy at all. We dubbed it as a “chillax run” and decided to have some girl bonding after.

Competitiveness
Though all we wanted was some quality time together during and after the race, we all found ourselves giving our best in our respective legs of the relay. Our post-race discussion revealed that all of us tried to outpace other teams and made sure we kept the lead against other teams.

In the end, we bagged the 16th place out of the 84 teams who ran. Some kind of an easy run, eh, girls? πŸ™‚

Epilogue
It was like that fun Halloween run, when you weren’t really sure on which aspect of the event you’re more excited aboutβ€”running or hanging out with friends? And you realize it’s because you’re having the best of both worlds: hanging out with friends while running!

Sponsors were generous as they awarded whopping cash prizes to the fastest and best in costume. Our team now has a year to think of a costume worthy of the prize. Haha. πŸ™‚

We also got the chance to hang out with other running friends, enjoyed the bottomless coffee at McDonald’s (Ronald’s treat) and a free ride from Rico, who endured our girl talks. Haha. πŸ˜€

*I hope to update this post with photos soon. I’ll just have to ask permission from the photographers.
Big thanks to Que for our free kits! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Relay Fun at the Lactacyd Team Woman Run

    1. Hi Kassy!

      Yup, it was a lot of fun! πŸ™‚ Atmosphere was party-like–with those costumes! McKinley Hills became more bearable because I was looking around at those lovely costumes! Haha.

      Sayang! I should’ve looked for you! Girl power! πŸ™‚

  1. i am so blushing right now..you’re such a sweet princess dear sis. =) i love your blog! cheers to our girl power friendship! sana nga next time we’ll bring home the bacon, egg and sinangag rice. hehe! hug tight!!! =D

    1. Hi Woss Princess! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

      Haha, yup, let’s bring home the bacon etc. next time! Haha, including the coffee! πŸ™‚ Isip na tayo ng costume for next year! Haha. πŸ˜€ *hugs* Was glad to have shared the experience with you, gals! πŸ˜€

  2. i luv your post, twacy! it will always be a pleasure to run with you gals! ang galing natin! =D

    >”You know that feeling when you own something special that you want to keep it a secret?”

    I DO! its a difficult feeling at the same time. =)

    talk to you soon!

    1. Joycee! πŸ™‚
      Haha, ang galing natin mag-chillax turned competitive! Haha. πŸ˜€

      Yeah, masyado tayong secretive! πŸ™‚ Hehe. πŸ˜€

      See you soon and cheers to more miles and friendship milestones! πŸ™‚ *hugs*

Leave a Reply

